new trader question (FX)

Discussion in 'Forex' started by Steve1964abc, Sep 23, 2019.

1. Hi i'm a new trader looking to use the Ichimoku indicators as a guide.
    i have a question that is causing me to hesitate in my trades.

If i set up EURSEK (for instance) and have one chart at 5 min and another at 15 min i can get two different indicators. Meaning my 5 min chart says don't buy but the 15 min chart says buy.

How do i decide which time span (or spans) to watch?
    I'm getting conflicting indicators depending on which time span i watch. Do successful traders stick with one and use other indicators as well as Ichimoku to decide when to buy/sell?

At this stage in my trading evolution i am lost on how to proceed. Any insight into what is happening would be greatly appreciated.

thanks

2. SteveH

SteveH

Recommend you use Ichimoku settings of 9,16,52...much better, imo, on 1-5 min charts.

Here's a thread on ForexFactory where a trader leads you through his method of trading FX with it:

https://www.forexfactory.com/showthread.php?t=583609

I think you're making a big mistake starting out trying to trade Forex. It's not volatile enough. You need HIGH volatility. Don't let Forex attract you just because you can bet itty-bitty sums of money. The emini-futures now have micro contracts, 1/10th the size of a normal one. You should be cutting your teeth on the micro NQ, RTY or YM (note: NOT the ES, beginners stay away, too choppy compared to the other 3) if you want to risk very low sums yet have skin in the game to test your emotions.

Dunno likes this.
  3. Thanks Steve,
    i'm looking at FX because i'm interested in Ichomoku and Questrade only has this option in FX.

i'm sorry but i don't understand what you are referring to with micro NQ, RTY or YM.

I do agree with you regarding the volatility. From what i've seen the spreads are only showing a potential gross profit of around $5-10 on a $1000 trade (which seems very low for the risk )