New Trader Need Help !!!

Discussion in 'Trading' started by joytrader, Jun 28, 2001.

1. joytrader

joytrader

Dear all the seniors,

I am a rookie day trader, I am not a scalper. I got very confuse with all the techniques and not even know where to start, I do not know where my real problem is??? I tried retracement, s/r, time reversal, SMA.....Nothing works.

I have been doing this trading for about 3 months...Sometimes wining , but most of the time losing ( I got very tight stop)..I read alot, and spend all my time studying the market. I just make myself breakeven the most...very fustrated although I keep pushing myself not to give up but it seems no end in sight.

I focus mostly on Oil&gas and biotech stocks. I tried hot technology before, but seems to fast for me.

Please show me some light!!!!!!

Thank you.

2. There is so much more then when and how to enter the markets:

Ruth Roosevelt says trading successfully is:
    (entry + money management + transaction cost) x You (Your state of mind)
    http://www.ruthroosevelt.com/

Do you have a clear defined strategy? When and how to enter and exit the markets. Do you writing a trading journal are you follow your rules?

so long

3. tymjr

tymjr

This is absolutely the most significant advice anyone can give you. Formulate a plan you believe will be effective and you will be comfortable with. Try to create a set of rigid rules that you will stick with until you develop the ability to formulate a more nuanced approach, if necessary. Trade that plan with small size, just enough to make it mean something but not enough to provoke fear. Record each of your trades, your emotional state, your observations of the market, and your conclusions regarding the outcome. After a significant number of trades, re-evaluate your system, yourself, and your suppositions regarding the market. Repeat until profitable.