New trader looking for good entry backtesting and strategy testing

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by scriabinop23, Jun 22, 2006.

1. I am new to daytrading and just getting my feet wet with options, futures, and want to test out some ideas related to tick readings, advances/decliners, and stochastic values.

I am green and have no idea what software is best -- I've read a little about tradestation, but instead (due to perils I've read) I signed up for IB [i've been doing my trading up til now on Etrade, and the commissions aren't compatible with quick scalps I'm learning].

Anyway, I want something thats compatible with whatever data feeds are included with IB, and preferrably has a demo so I can play with it at no (or minimal) charge. Or of course - free. (hah, one can hope).

please recommend good software or something I can fiddle with in the short term. I think at minimum a little familiarity with some program trading tools will help make me a better trader and teach me something, regardless if I evolve an automatic program or not.

Thanks in advance.

2. amswak

amswak

I would like to bump this post and see if anyone has any more recent input. I have a day job I really enjoy, but I would like to day trade too. I am fairly new to day trading and I am looking to set up an automated trading strategy.

I have found a few strategies on StrategyDesk that I have been testing real-time over the last month and comparing the results to the same-day backtesting results, but manually recording the data from hundreds of pop-up windows at the end of each day has gotten old. TDA's SD just isn't useful for test driving strategies.

On top of that, I only trade 100-200 shares per trade and 9.99 per trade kills almost all of my strategies that would have otherwise worked with a lower commission rate.