New Trader journal

Discussion in 'Journals' started by gdf, Sep 3, 2003.

1. gdf

gdf

Hello,
    Real newbie. I just started a free paper account on Wealth Lab (http://www.wealth-lab.com/cgi-bin/WealthLab.DLL/home) and will use this journal to keep track of myself and, hopefully, get comments from other ET members with the time/inclination to do so.

I have not yet developed a low risk trading plan so I won't be trading for real. However, I want to evaluate my psychology during trading and that's why I'm starting to paper trade right away. I'm doing Van Tharp's Peak Performance Course (PPC), I'm studying options, and I will be taking a Technical Analysis Course, and reading several other books as well (Market Wizards, Trade Your Way to Financial Freedom, Getting Started in Futures, etc...)

I've been given a $100,000.00 account to start. I will use a 1% position size and risk 20% of my equity. I will try to be fully invested within 2 weeks. I will try to trade in 3 independant markets or sectors. I've got a lot to learn.

Looking at the rough long term technicals (rough - since that's the extent of my knowledge of technicals so far), yesterday I bought to open: 500 shares Lucent (LU) at market, 18 shares Symantec (SYMC) at market.

As per Van Tharp's PPC, I'll make notes on my thinking for each day's trades.