New to the game

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by RBrown00, Jul 12, 2006.

1. RBrown00

RBrown00

Hey i'm completely new to the stock game. I spent a few years studying real estate (fun stuff) and i've always been interested in trading stocks and as far as my retirement is concerned (which is way off) I'm going to need to know this stuff aswell as real estate investing to accomplish the goals i have set out. I've finally got around to getting my finances in order and have been putting money into a mutual fund earning an average a little over 10% a year i've got plans to either convert that fund into an IRA (no benefits at my current job) or open a separate account for that so i can start building that egg up. I'm looking at doing some independent trading to see if i can build some money of my own and am kinda finding all the information in this area overwhelming and i'm not sure were to start. With my current job i'd be able to day trade cause i usually work nights, i also want to look into longer term easy to manage investments aswell. The only set back i'm seeing right now (i know i'm not going to jump right in with the big players anytime soon) is lack of capital to invest. Everyone i've talked to (usually people who aren't into investing at all) say that you need a lot of money to start up and thats something i don't have. Are they right or not? (i'm voting for not) and were do i start(aside from checking out the articles/threads here which i'll be dedicating 30min to an hour a day browsing over the next few weeks) and are there programs/books that will help me to better understand what i'm getting into and help me make more profitable trades. Thanks in advance for any assistance you guys can give.