New To The Game!

Discussion in 'Options' started by ashsawhney, Mar 16, 2004.

1. Hi, I am new to the Trading business. I have had an interest in it for a long time now and I am finally teaching myself to trade.

My first interest is in trading Futures Options and I would like to hear from others and learn from others. I recently bought the book "The Profit Matrix" by Frank W. Richards which gives the basics of the Futures market and explains how Options reduce risks and I am interested in paper trading. First I need 20 year charts. Any advice on where I can get them without breaking the bank?

Any information offered would be greatly appreciated. I am here to learn.

2. Hello:
    Use the search function at the top of the home page to find subjects of interest. Read my "New Traders Thread" (look under "journals"). Do not buy weekend training courses. It is probably wise to have a skeptical attitude about everything you read and hear, especially performance claims. Check out vendors carefully. Ask a lot of questions. Take your time. Good luck. Steve46

3. K89

K89

If you are new to the game I strongly suggest that you avoid options on futures. I was a market maker for 17 years at the PCX and a member of the PCX for 20 years. I have known many capable and tallented traders, and not one of them has ever felt comfortable in their ability to accurately price options on futures. The pricing models on equity and index options are even suspect on longer term options, but on futures options there can be real problems and complexity due to backwardizations etc.

My best advise is to learn to trade equity and index options first and then when you are capable of understanding the risks inherent in that game, then, and only then consider options on futures.

If you are interested in finding excellent and for real option workshops, then contact me privately and I'll be happy to share what I know.

Best wishes,
    Keith

4. jcdst

jcdst