new to stock market

Discussion in 'Trading' started by light12, Nov 21, 2017.

1. light12

light12

hi im new to stock and after reading some information on firstrade i still cant understand the meanings and there is a lot more rules in stock that i didnt know about please if there is some one to describe me better more in details
    here is one of them

Common Stock & Preferred Stock
    There are two main types of stock: common and preferred. Common stock usually entitles the owner the right to vote at shareholder meetings and to receive dividends that the company has declared. Preferred stock generally does not have voting rights, but has a higher claim on assets and earnings than the common shares. For example, owners of preferred stock receive dividends before common shareholders and have priority in the event a company goes bankrupt and is liquidated.

Preferred stock is largely owned by institutions and corporations because provisions in the tax laws allow dividends that they receive from preferred stock to be largely tax-exempt. In contrast, dividends on preferred stock received by individual investors are fully taxable. Since most of the demand for preferred shares comes from tax-advantaged buyers, who receive a higher after-tax yield, such stock is typically less attractive than other forms of investments for individuals.​

which one is better after all i can't tell the difference is it big deal to choose between them ?
    where can i find the full list of preferred and common stock

2. light12

light12

do i need to wait everytime for purchase date + 2 business day for profit and cash account get settle then buying back the price ?

Completing a Trade