New to Prop World and need helping advice

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by CaliBoy, Jun 3, 2009.

1. CaliBoy

CaliBoy

I am a recent graduate in business with little or no prior exp in trading. I have never traded any account in my life. I wanted to break into trading world. But the market is hard and I don't think I will get a break in IB. Prop Shops seems to be a good place were I can learn and trade for living( may not be enough $$$$ to make a simple living). I was shopping around and got a offer from a Prop Firm in NYC ( I don't want to name them, they are mentioned in this site many times). Just wondering the offer they gave is it good enough. I am asking all the Prop traders to take a look and advice. I will be happy if I don't make any money ($ for shelter,food and clothes is good).

Cost of Training $1,000.00

Minimal Capital Contribution $2,500.00

Registration Fees $876.00

$4,376.00

Per Share Rate 0.004 plus/minus exchange fees

Payout 75% (2years or $200,000 gross)

Monthly Share Requirement 250,000

Software/Desk Fee $-

Keep in mind that I don't have any prior exp in trading.

This is a just thought/question. If the offer is pretty good should I take it or try for big prop firms ( not looking for a monthly salary). Like Jane Street, g1,peak6,SIG,wolv ( i saw there websites and they are mostly interested in Ivy students) just few off the mind. Can you please name a few good names ( where I can learn) in prop where i can contribute 5K for capital, training, reg and get in.

I am naive to this Prop world and advice me.

Thank You
    CaliBoy

2. Unfortunately this is pretty bad deal. You have to pay $4,300 to start trading... no way.

I would NEVER pay for training. That is in the firm's interest, not yours. If they wanted you to be profitable, they wouldn't ask for a training fee. Also, what the hell is with the registration? That is bullsh!t.

The .004 commission fee is okay, but trading 250,000 shares for a new trader is ridiculous.