New to Options

Discussion in 'Options' started by SAA, Dec 23, 2007.

1. SAA

SAA

Hi There,

G'day to everyone here! First post.

I'm looking for some help in trading Options and selecting the market to trade (individual Stocks or Index options or something else) via virtual trading to begin with!

I'm new to all of this, have been reading quiet a fair bit now on Options (www.888options.com) & other material and just finished reading a book by David Caplan (the new option secret, volatility), which is mainly to do with Selling options but looks like his very much into selling options on commodities. After reading this book my whole thinking has been turned upside down, hopefully for the better!

I need to understand much more about volatility of options to see if I can take advantange of it by selling options in combination with other factors (following trends etc)

Some of the strategies at face value seem risky (the Short Strangle, he calls it the neutral trade), to me BUT I'm sure he would not enter it if the probability of high success was not in his favour/side!

Can this be done easily on individial stocks rather then commodities and easily in order to take advantage of selling high priced options when volatility is high to collect a good premimum and trade on non-directional trades?

I'm learning alot all the time, simply through the hard work I'm putting it with some good books. Excuse my mistakes, I'm sure I will send a few, as I'm on the learning curve at this moment in time.

In addtion are there any links which can try and help me put a trading plan together. I think this is extremelly important if I want to survice in this game.

Regards

SAA

2. lindq

lindq

Are you consistently profitable in trading equities? If not, then options are not for you. They will simply accelerate your losses, as will any leveraged derivative of equities.

3. SAA

SAA

I'm new to all of these. You made your judment so quickly.