New to it. Looking for advise with Brokerages...

Discussion in 'Trading' started by zfmt, Sep 29, 2011.

1. zfmt

zfmt

I'm new to this. I'm soft of self taught. I read a lot of investment books and do some paper trading. My parents are, for my birthday, going to fund an account for me to trade with and I'm really excited to start working with some actual money. But, there are a few things I'm unsure of.

It wont be much money, just a couple thousand. And I'll probably be focusing on penny stocks. I went in to set up an account with TD Waterhouse (I'm Canadian), and because my account is small, they want to charge me 30$ each trade + some other fees. That's too much. I probably trade about 10 times a month. I'm not super active, but I've managed some decent returns in the simulations. My question...

Are there any brokerages that would be affordable for a beginner who doesn't have a lot of money?

I'd appreciate any advise on this. Or really, any advise you could give to a newbie would be appreciated.

Thanks,
    Zak

2. speedtrader has pretty good rates, you should check them out. if you want to save some money on data, they have speedtrader 2.0 which only gives level 1 data but i think it's free to use

3. Congratulations, this is a wonderful opportunity for you.

The best lesson I learned when I started off was that I did not have to take THAT trade. The market would still be there the next day, and there would be many more opportunities. Be very selective.

That and work on identifying a time frame / style that you are comfortable trading. In my case it turned out to be swing trading stocks.

4. DIce

DIce

If you're in canada check out questrade. 4.95 to buy/sell stocks. I used them before I moved to the states.

5. zfmt

zfmt

Thanks guys!

I checked out speed trader and it's really complicated. I it looks like it would have a huge learning curve. But it's definitely something I'll get back to. Its soooo cheap!!!