New to IB and Need Help With Order Placement

Discussion in 'Order Execution' started by jpatet, Oct 10, 2005.

1. jpatet

jpatet

I’ve been trading a long time but I’m new to Interactive Brokers and I’m disappointed in the technical support. Over the last two weeks I sent an e-mail and also asked the same question of three representatives by phone on different days at different times and got four different answers. The e-mail gave an incomplete answer that was of no help and the last phone support guy was dangerously incorrect. I still am not sure how this trading platform works and it’s a shame that I can’t get a straight answer. Here’s the issue:

I trade the ES and this is pertains to Stop orders. Apparently this order can be entered on TWS as triggering either RTH Only or both RTH and Outside RTH. And there are various places this can be designated. The four that I’ve found so far:

1. Configure/Order/Order Defaults/Futures/RTH Only check box
    2. Configure/Order/Stop Trigger Method/Allow Triggering Outside RTH check box
    3. The Trading Screen’s RTH Only column which includes a check box
    4. The Order Ticket’s Time In Force/Regular Trading Hours Only check box

First of all, they all should be consistent, either checked for RTH Only or unchecked. Regardless, all one would need is a default (#1) and a way to alter it, if needed, where you are placing your order. And a way to see (confirm) that it’s been entered the way you intended when viewing your active orders. It’s as simple as that. What’s the point of #2 above? But that’s a side issue.