New to FX Trade

Discussion in 'Forex' started by AnsonLuo, Jul 9, 2012.

1. AnsonLuo

AnsonLuo

I am an absolute beginner in FX trading. Is there any good references that explain the relations between a particular FX rate and other macro-economic factors? By the way, I am from math background and don't have much economic knowledge especially how FX rates are determined. Open to any suggestions.

2. I've looked for the same thing, I doubt you will find it on the internet.

You might find it in some printed book over at amazon.

If you do find the info you are looking for, let me know

3. The only book I ever paid for on amazon kindle (and you don't have to have kindle to get it as long as you have a computer) was a book by Rickards called "Currency Wars." You can read the first chapter for free, on amazon.

otherwise, I have picked up a few thing on Bloomberg and CNBW (which is the non US overnight version CNBC), it's ok if you are non US and can stand the perverted English (I mean American) accents.

otherwise, it is just a bunch of the usual jokers explaining why EUR should go up (or down) and AUD should also go up or down.

My guess is, fundamentals should be easy to understand if you can operate a calculator, but very difficult to find explained.

To put it in perspective, you have to imagine that Ben Bernanke really has the hots for your your girlfriend and invites you (and her) to his home late at night. And after drinking brandy by the fireplace, you ask him "Is the dollar going to go up or down?"

My guess is if he is drunk enough will reply, "Beats the heck out of me."

I like you would like to understand more about fundamentals, and am sure that would enhance my trading experience.

But fundamentals are only a very small part of trading.

If I had to give up one thing about trading, it would be fundamentals, because I don't understand them and they don't mean a damn anyway.

otherwise, I would not want to get long or short the dollar until the election.