New Swing Trader

Discussion in 'Trading' started by BearToBull, Nov 5, 2018.

1. Hey guys, I got a paper account on thinkorswim a couple days ago and I've been forward testing stocks(I'm only going to be trading stocks, nothing else). My goal is not to earn lots, I'd be happy with a couple hundred dollars a month. I'm currently forward testing for an hour and a half from the time the market opens. I also screen only tech stocks because of their volatility. Being a swing trader, I don't want to trade everyday, 1-2 times/week is optimal. I'm currently screening for price only because I have no idea what to do. Then I pick 1 stock that will likely have an uptrend for the next couple days/weeks and hunt for a good price to buy based on resistance and breakouts. My mistake today was trading in/out too fast, like a day trader; so again my goal is to set it and forget it for at least a couple days, not staring at quotes an hour and a half every day. Here are my questions:

1. What are the most effective attributes I should use for stock screening, so that I only get max 15-20 stocks after screening?

2. I'm currently using 9-day, 15-day, and 50-day EMA's for my overlays, I would like to know if these are logical. So far the cross above/below 50-day is getting good signals.

3. For my indicators, I'm using a 14,3,3 slow stochastic; is this a good setting? Should I adjust the setting depending on the range of my chart? Or if the stochastic is too slow for swing traders, what should I use a fast or full one? Should I use MACD or RSI?

4. What should swing traders be doing pre-market other than screening stocks and drawing(e.g. labeling support and resistance levels)? Reading/watching the news?

5. What is a logical stop loss, how do you guys determine it? Is it a percentage of the buy price? Is it point-based? Is it based on support/resistance? I believe the latter makes the most sense.