new software tool development for technical Analysis of Quot data

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by aqtrader, Apr 27, 2013.

1. aqtrader

aqtrader

Hi,

I have been looking around but never found a good technical analysis software package that can satisfy my need. I am a software engineer. I decided write a tool myself. I intend to make this tool as an open source software, so everyone will enjoy for free.

This is one of my hobby projects.

Firstly, what this tool can do? The goal is
    1. easy stock/equity data technical analysis - many other famous software or programming language claimed to be able to do this such as MatLab, R language, etc, but not designed for stock data in the first place, so very difficult to use;
    2. support EOD (end of day) and intra-day stock data analysis;
    3. support fundamentals analysis such as PE, growth, etc;
    4. easy to define indicators that use any length of historical data, and/or intraday data plus some performance numbers - I need a new language for this.
    5. easy to filter out trash - kind of data mining for useful information;
    6. able to handle "big" data fast - not at the really big level for petabytes but good at gigabytes level for handling 5,000 symbols for 20 years stock data in a regular good laptop or a desktop computer running Linux. Sorry, I am not a Windows guy.
    7. etc - open for suggestions

How do I implement it?
    Ok, I will not start from scratch. I already have a lot of software pieces but not good enough. Basically, I will do:
    1. aqdb: define a new database scheme/format called aqdb
    2. aqlang: define a new computer language - specialized stock data analysis functional language called aqlang
    3. aq: write software program to manipulate aqdb and aqlang
    4. git-hub: share it as an open-source project when I am done.

What do I expect from ET community?