New Poster: Mechanica vs SmartQuant?

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by Smoker, Jul 27, 2006.

1. Smoker

Smoker

Hi Guys,

This is my first post on the forum so would first like to say hi to all forum members.

First a little background: I am a proprietary trader working as part of an in-house CTA team managing a chunk of oil money for the powers that be out of the Middle East.

At the moment our group is looking at several options for a universal back testing software package. At the present time we use individually written custom packages, some of the usual suspect commercial packages etc.

My question to the forum is pretty specific. I would like to know the forum member’s opinions on:

Mechanica vs SmartQuant ???????

The good, the bad and the ugly and any other insights and experiences both good and bad would be appreciated.

And to clarify price is not an issue; the only factor is which one is better or maybe we should just get both?

Our crew out here each run their own systems each of which as expected are pretty varied in design on all the world future markets from Oz to Europe to Stateside to the Far East.

As I said above think in house CTA so that is the profile of the client (moi) for which ever commercial software product you guys end up recommending.

Thanks a lot for your help and have a profitable day and if that doesn’t happen have a profitable week, month, year, decade etc.

Cheers, Smoker

PS And yes (before someone asks) paying no tax is groovy!

2. Smoker

Smoker

Hi Guys,

Forgot to mention if I am on the wrong forum and there are better sources of information out there on the software platforms I am looking interested in if you could point me in the right direction it would be most appreciated and I will get right out of your hair.

Cheers, Smoker

3. SmartQuant is the premier product (even TT was willing to partner with them). I have not found anything that is better for a small group or a large individual system based trader.