New Person

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by NurseJJ, Jan 2, 2008.

1. NurseJJ

NurseJJ

I am new to trading and would appreciate any advice you can give me. I am still learning the trading lingo and what the numbers stand for but ultimately, I would like to keep things as simple as possible. From my research, several companies I do buisness with have stock prices that fluctuate $5 to $10 throughout the year, but on a year to year basis they are consistently around the same price. Is it possible to make consistent profits by just sticking with companies you know and waiting for their share prices to drop below the norm and then hold onto them till they return back to normal level so you can sell them? Maybe I am over-simplifying this but it looks like a person could achieve a good ROI by doing this and have a lot of fun in the process. Any info you could offer me would be a great help. Thanks.

2. Money can be made but you'd be better off identifying uptrending stocks instead of "stagnant" stocks whose behavior is likely to change by the time you do your first trade with real money.