Networking three PC's to one cable connection + 802.11G

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by MrDinky, Mar 16, 2003.

1. MrDinky

MrDinky

I'm finally done wasting my money on three separate cable modem connections for three PC's. I know I'm throwing $100+ extra out the door every month that I could be saving if I network and now that they're capping speeds and setting data transfer limits, I figure the greedy bastards don't need any extra money.

The cable company charges an extra $5 per networked PC on one connection. My question is, how would they know the difference? I'm no expert on networking, but it seems like they wouldn't be able to tell if you had 1 or 100 computers connected as it's only the router that's connected to them. Will they be able to tell I have three PC's connected?

Also, I know this 802.11G, 54G or whatever it's called is overkill right now, plus initial reviews seem to say the technology is still buggy and even worse than the commonly used 802.11b standard. Has anyone taken the plunge with this new wi-fi standard that can give their opinion?

:cool:

2. jem

jem

I just moved a bunch of equipment to my house and was pleasantly surprised to see wifi with a four port switch. So I can keep my computer in my home office wired and still move my laptop around the house and connect an upstairs computer too. You may know this or not but I was pretty happy to see that I did not have to trust the wifi stuff too much at first.

3. MrDinky,

I used to share a single cable connection between two computers configuring Win98 SE accordingly for 2 years. it worked great and nobody from the cable company ever knocked on my door questioning anything.

4. Keep one connection and add in a wireless router. Get the necessary wireless cards and surf until your hearts content. :)

5. rs7

rs7