Need your help - Open position on statement

Discussion in 'Trading' started by ml77, Jan 29, 2011.

1. ml77

ml77

Hi,

I made a few trades yesterday. I canceled all orders and was flat when I closed Strategy Runner. I AM SURE ABOUT THAT.

This morning I receive the statement from Penson GHCO and I have an open long position!! Needless to say, it's a big loss.
    I am a young trader with a small account and it basically means I can now close my account and walk away.

What happened? What can I do? I read in the Strategy Runner reviews on EliteTrader that one user had this problem. But who is going to give me back my money? What can I do to prove I am right?

Thank you for your help, I really need it!

2. wrbtrader

wrbtrader

Unfortunately, it doesn't matter how SURE you were that you had closed all positions and canceled all open orders...

If you don't have PROOF that such was done...not much you can do with that small account. Thus, you won't get back your money without any proof to verified what you were SURE about.

However, in the future, you should use a screen video recorder to record your broker platform the moment you open it until you close it. This will give you the PROOF that something went wrong whenever it does. Yet, sometimes, even that's not good enough and always read and then re-read the fine print of those account documents you signed when you first open your trading account. :mad:

Last of all, you should get into the habit of re-opening your broker platform to ensure all orders have been canceled or that there aren't any open orders (take a screen capture image an save them daily). This habit alone for me has caught three times last year an open position with a few remaining contracts when I was SURE I had exited all contracts.

It's similar to coming home for the evening and you close your door and then lock it after entering the house. Later in the night "before" going to bed...you check again to make sure your door is locked.

Mark