Need to be happy to trade well

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by sheepsucker, Sep 2, 2009.

1. I have been making a lot of impulsive trades, it has been for many months the biggest negative force on my PnL.

I think I have discovered a reason and cure for this.
    I have had lots of expectations and been very impatient to make money after all the time and effort I have put into this. This makes me take lots of impulsive trades.

I have to be perfectly happy the way things are. If no setup shows up today, doesnt matter I was happy yesterday and will be today.

Easier said than done but I wanted to post this as I got a lot of valuable advice to my previous post.

2. FB123

FB123

Find a trading style that suits you. If you have a problem sitting there all day waiting for a trade setup, maybe you're trading the wrong style. Personally I am impatient as hell, and knowing this about myself, I never even tried to trade a system where I would have to sit there and wait for two hours to get into a trade. I developed a scalping system that even in a dead market, will allow me to get in and out for a profitable trade within a minute of sitting down at my computer. It took a long time to develop something that would work for me in all market conditions and then get good at it, but it's worthwhile. When you and your trading system are in harmony, things work well. If you're trying to force yourself to wait for setups but don't feel comfortable trading like that, maybe you should investigate systems that give you faster signals.

3. If you've said " within ten minutes of sitting down at my computer " I would fully agree with you.
    However you've said " within a minute of sitting down at my computer " which is , at least, an overstatement ..

4. FB123

FB123