Need recommendation for setting up multiple monitors on one PC

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by imnew, Jul 30, 2009.

1. imnew

imnew

Hello Everyone,
    I'm new to this site, so please forgive me if I don't know all the etiquette here. :)

I just started doing active trading (towards day trading) but right now my trading is not heavy as I'm still learning. I am looking for setting up three monitors on one PC. The reason is that I'm using QuoteTracker and I have to click every time when I open up a chart or switch in between. So I am wondering if anybody here could recommend a hardware system for me. I'm not computer illiterate but not really familiar with the hardware either.

I'll be mainly using the computer and the monitors for charts and trading. So, no gaming, no heavy video/entertainment stuff. For this purpose, I did some research and found that, to set up a three-monitor system, a cost-effective way would be install two dual-head PCI video cards (that's if my computer has two PCI slots) and uninstall the built-in one. Am I correct here? Also, I am thinking about buy three of this monitor here:

http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/...etail.aspx?c=us&l=en&s=dhs&cs=19&sku=320-7619

Are these monitors good?

Anything else I should know about hardware before I go out and buy all the equipment?

Thank you so much! Your advice would be very much appreciated. :)

Imnew

2. I can tell you my experience. I have a non-professional trading room with 20+ monitors spread over 4 desktops.

Your computer bus type is the deciding factor. PCI or PCIx16? And how many. Older computer probably have PCI. You can google the pictures of the bus slots to tell what you have.

I use 2 makes: EVGA and PNY Technologies. I used to like PNY Technologies but now like EVGA. Both are off the shelf. Work about the same. Price about the same. I picked up my display cards from the local Fry's Electronics (or whatever equivalent in your area).