Need newbie guide to getting and staying delta neutral

Discussion in 'Options' started by sluzbenik, May 27, 2006.

1. Let' say I have a largish ultra low-cost basis portfolio (did those calcs, unless the market crashes to say 500 I am better off tax-wise with gains on options) with an 80% correlation to the S&P 500 and lower beta (how much to hedge I am knowledgeable enough to calculate.)

For personal reasons I need to get this sucker delta neutral.

I would like to rebalance to delta neutrality on a monthly basis till the end of the year or whatever provides best risk/reward given transaction costs.

I have some experience with options, but mostly I have I am always underestimating time decay (or overestimating the move.)

I have considered using futures but I'm worried about getting margin calls if we get mega-upside and I have better uses for my cash than leaving it sit in a futures account protecting my butt. at least with a straight option loss is limited. Then again, it seems time decay always gets you in the end.

Can anyone point me to some resources? How can I find the sweet spot? Straight Dec puts? Rolling over monthly or bi-monthly?

Do I need to learn VAR analysis? That's slightly out of my league but if there are some easy-to-use tools out there I'd take it on.

Thanks much.

2. OTR

OTR

sluzbenik,
    George Fontanills is the King of Delta Neutral trading methods. His book, The Options Course has excellent information about implementing a Delta Neutral Strategy.

The Options Course also has a companion workbook that has a couple of dozen pages to help you hone your skills.

These are 2 books that I use regularly, and they are two of the most popular books on my website for people looking at Delta Neutral strategies. You can read more about it at (scroll downt he page to see the review links):

http://www.options-trading-resources.com/Options-Trading-Books.html

Hope this helps.

Regards,
    Steve