Need help with RT III order execution

Discussion in 'Trading' started by arky, Oct 29, 2001.

1. arky

arky

Hi everyone, I'm mostly one of the many "lurkers" here since I'm a newbie (although I have committed one complete year to full time study of this profession) and as yet I don't have much useful info to share. I just opened my acct. with MB Trading and I'm learning the Realtick III s/w, and although I have read almost every avail. book (Nasdaq Traders Toolkit, as well) I need some help with placing orders. It seems most Nasdaq traders execute thru Island, but can anyone elaborate on the proper method of execution. Lets take AMAT for example, it moves pretty fast, so do you put in an Island Limit order a couple of spreads out (if Island appears on Level II) and wait for it to come to your price? Is this the concept or do I have it wrong? Is Super SOES limit to a MM if he appears on the inside ask/offer viable or will he be gone by the time my order hits? I am truly perplexed over this part of the process. If anyone can help me with this I promise to return the favor to others in the future when I have the appropriate skills. Thanks to everyone who contributes here as I have already received a ton of useful advice on this fascinating business.

Kind regards,
    Arky

2. arky =)