Need help with NinjaTrader chart. Can someone assist?

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by johnstac, Aug 7, 2012.

1. johnstac

johnstac

I'm new to Ninja Trader. I opened a new chart and selected the ES 9-12 and I think it defaulted to the daily. Not sure. Anyways, I wanted to change it to the 2000 tick chart so I began typing "2000T" in the open area. That worked fine and now it does indicate up top that I'm looking at the 2000T but all I have is white space. I take that back. It shows one vertical bar on the very right with an increment of 1396.75 to 1397. When I try to grab and bring the increments closer together to display more, I do see more increments but I just have the one vertical bar and no history. Anyone?

2. jo0477

jo0477

Try right clicking on your chart, open up data series and set "Type" to tick and "value" to 2000. Then on the same menu, go down to "Data" and make sure that you are loading history based on x number of bars or x number of days. The data should refresh correctly.

3. johnstac

johnstac

I did check those things you mentioned. It already stated Type: Tick, Value: 2000, Price based on: Last, Data based on: Days, Days to load: 3. Pretty much everything was there based on default as I have not changed anything. Still, I just see this one vertical candlestick that goes up and down, I guess based on price but nothing to the left of it. If I change it to a 5 minute, 3 minute or any of the regular menu items, it shows everything. I'm trying to use this 2000T based on someone whos stuff I am trying to learn from. Just can't get it to display correctly.

4. johnstac

johnstac

Maybe you guys can try just opening a new chart with the ES and then type in "2000T" (without parenthesis) and tell me what you see. Is the entire chart there or just one bar? What do you do after that to see everything?