Need help understanding my risks !!!

Discussion in 'Options' started by vedernikov, Jan 27, 2011.

1. Hi everyone!

I need some help understanding risks with my strategy with options. First of all, I must say that I am new to this (options) so your advices are extremely valuable to me!!!
    I started trading stocks about two years ago just when marked hit the bottom. Even though I am happy with the returns on my original investments in stocks, getting it was often a very wearisome process and I am trying to secure my gains while still getting some profit.

As I was educating myself about options I noticed that there are some out-of-money call options (expiring in about a month) which cost about 3% of the current stock price. I like return of 3% a month :cool:. Now my headache is to make sure I understand the risks.

What I want to do is this: I want to make sure I OWN the stock as soon as its price goes ABOVE the strike AND make sure I DO NOT OWN it when the price is BELOW the strike. In other words I would have my call covered at above strike – in this case it seams like I protect myself when price is going up too much. On the other hand, if I would sell stock as soon as its price falls below strike – when I protect myself from losses due to further decrease in price of the security.

So, in my naïve mind it looks like a sure deal – collecting premiums and eliminating the risks by buying or selling stock at strike. And this bothers me A LOT! I must be missing something! PLEASE TELL ME WHAT AM I MISSING !!! :confused:

P.S. : For the sake of argument lets assume: (1) I can write naked calls (2) I have just enough equity to be day-pattern-trader and (3) I have time to stare at the stock the hole day :)

Thank you all for your help!
    Alex

2. Alex,