Need help on new strategy

Discussion in 'Options' started by Adamoptions, Aug 31, 2003.

1. When the market finally breaks out of this trading range I want to be ready because I think the direction it chooses will be strong for a while. I'm fairly new with options. Most of my knowledge is bookish so I would like advice from experience traders:

If market goes bullish, my plan is:

1. Use Investors Business Daily list of Best 100 Stocks based on fundamentals.

2. Narrow the list down to stocks related to indexes that are trending.

3. Sell credit spreads on the trending indexes that have IV below it's 85th percentile. Sell naked on trending indexes with an IV above the 85th percentile. By sticking to the indexes, I lower my risk of large gaps. It also gives me some place to roll if the price fails it's trend, reverses and hits my strike. I keep these short positions relatively small to keep my risk small. The objective is to help pay for the losses incurred on my long positions.

4. Continue to monitor for a good entry point on the stocks connected with the indexes. Enter a position by buying the underlying stock so I can keep a tight stop loss and minimize the effect of the bid/ask spread. If the stock shows a small profit, sell the stock and build the same delta position with slightly deep-in-the-money, near expiration options.

By entering the position with the stock I minimize my loss if I hit my stop. But if I get a small profit, I switch to options and the small profit will cover some or all of the option premium and the bid/ask spread. Play like a position trade from here.

That's the basically the idea. The focus is to keep my losses as small as possible. Has anyone done this? What are your opinions of it? Remember, I'm a newbie so please keep sarcasm to a minimum. :)

Thanks

2. lindq

lindq

New to trading, or new to options? What's your trading experience?

3. timytime

timytime