Need career advice, please help

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by BillySimas, Jun 2, 2008.

1. Hello, I could really use some advice today, I'm doing some soul searching here trying to decide what route to take in my trading career. First off, I've been studying the market from a technical perspective for several years now but I only have extensive experience in scalping futures. I didn't fare well at scalping and since I'm more of a stat guy, I've leaned towards implementing methods where my stop and target are always pre-defined and there is no discretion involved. I've spent many months trying to decide which strategies suit my personality and I'm starting to feel like I'm on my way towards building something profitable, although I don't have a track record yet to back it up. My question is: should I look for a proprietary trading firm where I can either get fully backed (harder to accomplish since I've already failed at one firm), put up some of my own money and get leverage from a prop firm, or trade totally independently with just $8,000? That's really all I have and I feel like it isn't anywhere near the amount I need to make a go of it unless I want to take enormous risk. What is your personal opinion? Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

2. imo, $8000 is nowhere near the amount of capital you would need to do statistical arbitrage, a strategy which generally emphasizes risk management and an acceptance of decreased returns. A 30% return on $8000 is not enough to live on... in addition stat arb has a high win rate but is equivalent to picking up nickels in front of a streamroller, as the platitude goes.

You could try a prop shop, although the few that take a very quantitative approach to the markets are unlikely to hire someone with no experience.

Your best bet is to find another approach to the markets for the time being. There's a lot of ground between scalping and quant trades.