Need Broker Advice

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by OBXtrader, Apr 8, 2004.

1. OBXtrader

OBXtrader

Hi, all!

My first post - Just want to say "Great community you have here". I've read a lot of your posts and see that there are some brilliant minds here.

I need a little help finding a broker/trading platform with the following in mind...

-I only have about $10000 of risk capital.

-I've been long-term investing for about 5 years, mainly in buy-and-hold fashion, but I've been studying active trading strategies for about 2 months - paper trading and simulators.

-I really wanted to go with Tradestation, but disappointed to find that I don't meet their rigid financial requirement - minimum initial investment for day-pattern trading (what good is a non-day trading account on a tradestation - geez!).

-I still have a day job and would like an automated means so I won't have to stare at screens 8 hours.

-Looking to use a strategy which yields small, but consistent, growth, for the next few years.

What's the best broker and/or platform would you recommend for someone with the requirements/restrictions listed above? Can I run an automated platform on Scottrade?

Again, thanks for your help and thanks for all the information I've been able to obtain from you folks on the forum, as well as the tutorials on the site.

Thad

2. No, you cannot run an automated system on Scottrade.

As for PDT requirement ($25,000) that is an SEC requirement so if you plan to really daytrade, you will have to get 25K first. Otherwise, you will have to limit your daytrading so you will not be labeled a pattern day trader.

3. Truff

Truff