[Need Advise] Language for strategy development (R, Python or VB.NET)

Discussion in 'App Development' started by brianchan, Jul 24, 2014.

1. brianchan

brianchan

Hi all

I am new to trading and would like to ask some questions.

I am developing my backtesting platform by VB.NET.

Before coding the whole strategy into the VB.NET, would it be more efficient to prototype the strategy first in R or Python?

I am considering the strategy development speed between R, Python and VB.NET

I have some very basic knowledge to R, but it seems to be statistical-like.
    So I am considering whether Python would be better because it is more "general-purpose".

Thanks a lot for all of your suggestion and comments

2. Generally you use R for finding patterns in the historical prices.

One you found those patterns then code them in a language that is compatible with
    your broker API

3. jcl366

jcl366

Python would be far more efficient, but why do you need a different language for prototyping? If your strategies run in VB.Net, why not prototype them in VB already?

Here's a speed comparison of languages:

http://attractivechaos.github.io/plb/

4. Baron

Baron ET Founder

I always heard that Ruby was slow but never realized just how slow it is until I just saw those speed comparisons.

5. brianchan

brianchan

Thanks a lot

My main concern is the development speed. It seems that finding the pattern in R or Python is faster, but protyping may not save me time

6. vicirek

vicirek

First you have to define the problem that you are trying to solve and what is the meaning of "strategy" in terms of algorithm design or in terms of either TA, stats, ML etc. being considered as building blocks of the algorithm.

Any computer language consists of core language and libraries.

R is the easiest to use and fastest to implement prototyping because it has 4000 libraries handy with out of the box graphics and in my opinion it is based on very clever core concepts of computer science.