Need advice

Discussion in 'Hook Up' started by NaveedH, Apr 5, 2012.

1. NaveedH

NaveedH

Hey fellas,

Yes, its my first post. It's also my second month trading (equities) and now I want to enter it as a career because I've become obsessed with the challenge. I'm a recent engineering grad from the Univ. of Texas in Austin, and I've always seen myself as smarter than most and I want to prove it by working in the most competitive environment in the world. I'm not trying to find a job yet, as I know it wouldn't be feasible for anyone to take on a fresh mind like myself.

I intend on doing this for a long time because I just had one of those epiphanies where you realize what you want to do for the rest of your life (too late, I know). My question to you is... how do I break in with an irrelevant degree and no experience? Any advice? I apologize if this isn't the place for it, in which case, please take this off...

Thanks much!

2. Roark

Roark

When the market and a big ego meet, who do you think wins?

3. jo0477

jo0477

Has anyone else noticed a pattern of engineers who want to ditch their field and trade for a living? Not anything negative, just an observation.

I'm curious because the engineers that I know personally all enjoy their careers thoroughly and would never consider leaving for any other endeavor. On top of it, they clock fantastic $$ so I'm not sure why so many on here seem to be unhappy. I would think that many would realize that it may not be the field for them while in school and switch to finance, math, comp sci, etc...

OP, do you mind sharing what branch of eng. you majored in? Also, have you thought about working for awhile to pay off debts, build a bankroll, and trade on the side? Futures or FX give you plenty of opportunity to trade outside RTH (this is what I do to get my fix!).

Best of luck dude :cool:

JO

4. 1) Keep your day-job forever. :(
    2) You're in love with the "prospect of earning a lot of money", not trading, itself. :)