Need Advice

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by dreamerdreamer, Jul 4, 2008.

1. Hi everyone;

I am a new member in here and I need some advice on what to do to have a good career in Hedge funds, Investment Banking or Trading.

I should say that I have a Bsc in Electrical Engineering and an MA in Econ and I'm going to start my PhD in Econ next year. I should say that I know that a PhD is a waste of time for someone who wants to go private sector, but I have to do it.

I first wanted to ask you to introduce me some good books about Trading/Investment/Hedgefunds.... so that I get some knowledge about what they do, what kind of strategies are used in the past and etc.

Second, what is the closest branch in Economics/Finance that you think it will help me in pursuing a career in hedgefunds.

I will be grateful for any other advice that you think will be useful for a person like me.

Thanks in advance

2. C- kid

C- kid

if you want to run a fund

you need to learn to trade

you won't learn by reading

you will learn by doing

I don't know why I bother, no one ever takes advice from internet anyway :cool:

3. I know what a PhD is for, but as I said I have to do it and I really like Economics so I enjoy my time doing the PhD, plus that it gives me a fairly good insight. I should say that I have done research and I know what research is and how it is done. You won't be able to learn any trader or hedge fund strategy by reading any "Scholastic Article", because as you said their purpose is much different. These articles, will give you very good insights, but they dont tell you how the things are in the real world.