need advice to help pick the platform & programming language

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by jokepie, Apr 18, 2012.

1. jokepie

jokepie

I am new to programming and do not intend to learn it for the sake of staying sane.

I need a platform that has easy point / click to put together the algo and good backtesting/ fwd testing abilities.

It will be great if someone with very little C language experience like me can manupilate the language in the platform, change the default formulas of indicators, be able to write my own equations.

Once i have tested the algo success fully I plan to hire a programmer to code this. Which is a better language for Black box or Grey box type algos ? I also want a small user interface may be in VB to change parameters etc.

Thank you guys in advance.

Guru

2. Go work at McDonalds.

THat WILL NOT WORK. YOu basically erefuse the sensible way and want something easy. BAD news: It never worked. Point and click falls apart the moment you try to show more complex setups - even one dozen boolean conditions turn into a nightmare.

You want to work as a cook without knowing how to cook and refuse to learn it. NO WAY.

3. jokepie

jokepie

O ComeON NetTecture,

If there is a tool that is sufficient - for what i need to get doen Why do I need to learn programming. I dont have to invent the wheel.
    If what you mean is - there are no such platforms ... i am out of luck... then i gotta either learn programming or hire a good one.

I like the MCD joke..

4. jokepie

jokepie

also, can you tell me which language to go for, like i said i have done high school C++. My broker is IB. And I want to create a lil bit of screen where i can input parameters. Create buttons for stoping the Algo, Clean-out positions etc.

5. A few observations:

1) I would start first with C# and see if you can get what you need with NinjaTrader. It's free until you trade live, and if you want to trade on your IB paper account, it's still pretty cheap.