Need Advice on getting started

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by wfeagin3, Jul 13, 2012.

1. wfeagin3

wfeagin3

I am very new to all of trading. I currently have a thinkorswim account and am doing some daytrading. I would like to move to automated trading, but I don't really know what direction to go. Thinkorswim does not have any automated trading capabilities built-in, plus I don't like their high commissions.

I was thinking of getting a data feed, charting software, and different broker with low fees. I am aware of IQfeed, Esignal, ninjatrader, amibroker, multicharts, and the like.

I do not know anyone personally that does this type of trading, but from reading online, this looks like the direction I should go to do automated trading. I am an engineer and have used programming software like Mathcad and Matlab. So I know how to do some programming, but I do not know the syntax of c, c++, and the other popular languages. But I feel confident that I would be able to figure out existing code and modify it to my liking.

I want to be able to backtest strategies and develop a solid system, and eventually automate it. I can use any and all advice or criticism.

Thanks in advance!