Need advice from pros

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by nirav34, Jul 12, 2006.

1. nirav34

nirav34

Hi, I am currently attending DePaul University. You probably never heard of it, it's in Chicago. I am currently a Junior, pursuing a bachelors in Finance. I know Investment Banking is very competitive. I have a gpa of 4.0 in my major classes. I am interested in Equity Research and Options & Futures. What are my options for employment? Do I have a chance at the top 10 investment banks? Basically I want to know what can I do with my degree. I really want to trade for a living. Please advise. Thank You in advance. Cheers!

2. Congrats on your 4.0. Unfortunately, being booksmart won't help you in your desire to trade. If you have just as much common sense... that'll help. Good luck in your trading endeavors.

3. That's not entirely true. I am sure investment bankers, albeit they aren't traders per se, benefit greatly from a strong background in math/finance.

4. 100% correct concerning investment bankers. However I was referring to the end of his post and his desire to become a trader.

5. For trading your booksmarts wont help much. However if you have a 4.0 gpa it means that you are dedicated and disciplined, that helps a lot. Just try to avoid the most common mistake that really smart people do when approaching the markets, thinking that is not ok to be wrong. Be humble, try to feel what the market IS doing, not what it should be doing... and you might have a shot.

Read Marc Douglas´ Trading in the zone.