Need Advice: 3 Job Offers

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by ChitownWally, Jul 4, 2005.

1. Fellas,

I'm a newbie to both this forum, and to a lesser extent, trading in general. I recently graduated from college and was lucky enough to secure three job offers from three professional trading firms. I'm not sure which would be best for launching a career in trading, and would appreciate any advice you guys have to offer. I'm a little torn as far as floor vs. screen, as well as options vs. futures. I know electronic trading is the future of trading, but some good stuff remains to be learned on the floor - especially in options I hear.

The first offer I got was from an equity options market maker. They're totally on the screen and place a heavy emphasis on technology (I think they 3-5 programmers for every trader). There's a three month training period with salary, and then it moves to regular commission/draw. You eat what you kill, I guess.

The second offer was at another options trading firm/market maker. This position would be on the floor of the CBOT as a clerk in the treasury options pits. Yearly salary plus bonus. This firm is also tech-heavy, with a hybrid operation of screen/floor traders.

The third offer I got was from a well respected prop. firm which pays a yearly salary plus bonus as well for up to three to five years. The position would be first as assistant trader/trainee, then as a full-trader in treasury futures. On the screen as well.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys....

2. Geeeezzzz dude, why not pray to God for an answer ... forums are not the place.

Being that I'm responding, I like the 2nd and the 3rd.

3. tomcole

tomcole

Take the one with the biggest salary - draw against commiss is a suckers game.

4. simp1

simp1