Need a recommendation for a NYC firm

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by trader4life, Feb 1, 2002.

1. I am a prop trader at a NYC firm and am looking to move on. I have my Series 7 and 63, am willing to put up $10k capital (maybe a bit more for the PERFECT situation), trade almost exclusively Listed stocks, trade 1.0-1.5 million shares a month, and am consistently profitable (have not had a losing month in 2 1/2 years).

I know where I DON'T want to go: Andover, Bright, Worldco, Schoenfeld

I know what I am looking for: fast and stable order entry and market data systems, the ability to trade options or futures if I want, commission of .07 cents or less, bullets 2.5 cents or less, and 99% payout or better (I am already getting this so I know it is possible).

It would also be nice if the shop had BIG traders, and a system that permitted automatic trade executions and modeling/back-testing.

ANY RECOMMENDATIONS???????

2. You mean .7 cents I assume?

Do you know anything about Sonic Trading...they are right near Wall St. I think they are mostly Nasdaq traders but they have an awesome order entry platform and definitely have some big traders.

3. Interesting request...let me make an observation. First off, if you "have never had a losing month in 2.5 years" then you obviously have significant capital. Then you should want to use that capital to increase your profits and reduce your costs. Why not put up $50K or $100K with a reputable firm and have your costs reduced.

Since you mentioned the above firms, including mine, I wonder if there has been a problem with any of these firms (not an accusation, just a query). Gene Weissman was not mentioned, and I am sure he would welcome an experienced trader with your experience.