need a little career advice

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by drtomaso, Feb 6, 2006.

1. drtomaso

drtomaso

Hey all-

I'm a long time lurker, first time poster. I need a little career advice, and hoped I might find people with similar stories who might be able to speak from their own experiences.

My background is in computer science- I did a BA and 3 years of work toward a PhD I never completed. I began my interest in investment/trading when I took a consultant position as a programmer for a top tier investment bank/broker dealer. I did 1.5 years in the front office, working with some incredibly smart people who were developing the firms electronic trading engines. Given that before that, I couldn't tell you the difference between an option and a future, I guess you could say I stumbled into this interest.

I'm now in my first regular "employee-status" job, in the back office for another huge IB/Broker Dealer. At first, I was learning quite a bit of new tech, so I didn't notice I wasn't learning anything new about the business world. I earn good money, but am quickly discovering I lack interest in a "pure-tech" job. The path I am on leads to being a tech manager 5-15 years down the road- a destination I am not sure I want to arrive at.

Initially, I considered trading my own account- but this posed several problems. Given the size of my initial stake (between 40-50k) I would have to be extremely good or extremely lucky to earn the return on my capital necessary to equal my old salary. Trading part time while working my "day job" is out too- the firm has "buy and hold" rules that would lock me into positions longer than 30 days. Even with a longer term strategy, this would wreak havoc with risk management. Prop shop trading might make the pay-cut more manageable, but with the associated risk of leverage, something I am not presently comfortable with.

Of course, none of that precludes working for someone, trading other peoples money ;)