Need a good brokerage for under 21

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by jackassery, Sep 25, 2005.

1. So I tried to open an account at IB today. I've been trading for about 6 months now and have been doing fairly well lately. So now after two years at Scottrade and three before that at TD I see that I could use more sophisticated tools and lower commissions.

However, midway through the app it says I need to be over 21 to apply. So now I'm thinking about my second choice E-trade but I'm not sure. Tradestation was another thought but I dont meet the minimum liquidity requirements.

Should I wait out the 8 months until I'm 21 or go to E-trade or another broker that someone can suggest.

Thanks,
    -Jamaal

2. Make a run for the border.

3. Ummm. Anyone else?

4. ig0r

ig0r

From a fellow minor to another, what you're playing is a losing game :)

5. Fake your age.

6. Well last time I checked 18 was the age of consent so I wouldn't really be a minor. But why am I playing a losing game?

7. 'coz that's a reality: the real pro are making a fortune while the average joe is going broke and the remaining 'above average' are barely breaking even.

8. Oh okay well I've heard that enough. I thought he meant specifically because I'm 20.

Really I'm not looking to get rich off this or even replace my day job. My dad had been suggesting swing trading to me for a while and over the past few months I've been moving more into day trading. I'm a college student with lots of time on my hands to sit and monitor the market so this seems like a good way to pick up some profitable skills. At my lowest I had lost 3,000 for my money over 2 months but now I've made that back and I'm profitable now. I really just needed to see that I need to set targets and respect my stops. The problem is never not knowing what to do it's not doing what you know you should.