Need a better prop firm

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by aalluubbaa, Jul 14, 2008.

1. Let me introduce myself briefly. I am from Taiwan and had my education in the US. I graduated from Emory a few years ago. I started to day trade since mid feb and have encountered some problems.

I joined a prop firm, which is a small firm. They train us to become trend followers and their philosophy is to risk a little, make a lot so that you would be profitable even if your winning percentage is less than 50%.

After almost half a year of so-called working, I found out that my initial 5000 dollar deposit is almost gone. One thing that caught my attention is that I didn't lose them to the market. I am down 3700 dollars and paid out 4500 for commission with half a million shares total. I usually trade around 8000 shares/day.

Trend following in day trading is extremely difficult. Especially when your trading cost of 100 shares in and out is almost 2 bucks!! So I decided to switch to the other prop trading firm in NYC area.

My main concern is that I am not a US citizen. I'm wondering if there is any prop firm in NYC that sponsors me and give good training. If that is hard to achieve, I would still rather go to another firm with a rate lower than 80 cents. Can anyone give some love and give me some honest advices?? THX~

2. Go to Chicago, way more opportunity (if you're qualified)

The living expenses are less as well as taxes.

There's a reason it was ranked #1 by Trader Monthly for best trading city in the world.

3. wenyu

wenyu

Why don't you come back Taiwan Swifttrade branch office in Taipei ?

4. Advice: Read some good books. Extensive research by Keith Fitschen (Developing Trading Systems) indicates that COUNTER TREND trading models work intraday compared to TREND FOLLOWING. Again, this is not EVERY DAY, but that is the tendency. If you want to win in this game, you must go with the TENDENCIES, not against them.
    That will provide you the edge.