Natural Gas

Discussion in 'Commodity Futures' started by rocket66, May 27, 2009.

1. rocket66

rocket66

I am a self-described macro trader that trades fx, rates, commodities, and stock indeces. I have recently expanded into nat gas and have taken a nice pounding. I am at a loss for what drives nat gas. It ain't oil and it ain't risk appettite..or at least not on the time frames I am looking at. Anyone out there have some insights/suggestions for a newbie..beyond staying away?

2. It is all those drivers, although at different times.

Sometimes its phys. driving the market, sometimes its dollar and CL.

As random as any other market- they are all BS, just tools to buy and sell.... gas has enough liquidity to trade for sure. Volatility is good... but random as any other

3. rocket66

rocket66

thanks. i find it amazing that this thing continues to be in a powerful downtrend despite the "green shoots" thesis being reflected in other commodities, to differing degrees. this beast has a mind of its own. at any rate i am looking to go long on weakness. feels like the next big move is up. cheers.

4. Nat Gas is a terrific buy here if you have a long time horizon (possibly years) and excess capital to buy more should be drop 30-40% more but I have started buying

5. rocket66

rocket66

yup it seems cheap. my horizon is a few hours to a few weeks at the moment! seems like we can test the lows from earlier this month and we are 10% away. we had a healthy 3% bounce this morning from the lows. tempted here, but i will watch some more. i am not a good trend fighter. looking to buy weakness.

6. spersky

spersky

my charts do not go back long enough has natural gas ever been this low?

7. On a few hours to few weeks time frame, I have absolutely no idea where Nat Gas will be

8. cokezero

cokezero

I want to buy nat gas as well at this price level but the huge contango rules out futures and ETF as a viable vehicle for longer term (months or years) investment.