nasdaq vs nyse(important...too me at least)

Discussion in 'Trading' started by nwbprop, Oct 31, 2002.

1. i have a predicament and would love your input(your input will be play a big factor). I am wondering if i should focus on trading listed or nasdaq. the firm i trade at primarily trades nasdaq but some have switched to trading listed recently.
    I want to make the best money possible as all of us do. i want to know if the profit potential for trading listed is greater than nasdaq. i figure that the best estimate would be the top traders daily numbers of the traders who trade listed stocks. if someone could post it or send me a pm that would be great. I would also love everyones input. Not just the numbers. to give you an idea of me. i started trading recently and my trainer that i sit next too makes a few grand a day. i was wondering if i should focus on listed or stay with nasdaq. again, thanks for the input. all input will be helpful. even the jokes. mr bright, please shed some light.:confused:

2. do the same thing your trainer did

3. Does your trainer trade listed or nasdaq? How have the other traders in your office been doing since switching to nyse compared to those that have stayed with nasdaq?

4. makes no diff to me. you choose. i will take your $$ regardless.heh heh:p

5. tntneo

tntneo Moderator

randy, you must be the trainer, right ? :D

6. It seems that with todays markets it's a bit easierto trade the NYSE. The reason I have found is due to the spreads. NYSE stocks tend to have smaller spreads then the NASDAQ. In todays markets the moves are so small on avg, that it's easier to squeeze out a gain on NYSE. But I know traders who trade NASDAQ and do really well. It's all a matter of learning a style that is profitable. Your trainer should play a big role in helping you find a strategy that works.