Nasdaq Scalpers

Discussion in 'Trading' started by samtrader, Jan 11, 2002.

1. A question to any Nasdaq short term scalpers out there:
    When trading liquid stocks like MSFT, what (if any) indicator do you use to determine the very short term direction. When I say "very short term" I mean the next 4 to 6 cent move.
    Could Level II quotes indicate this type of move ahead of the prints? If so, are there specific ECNs that have more weight when looking for a short term direction? Or is Level II just considered noise, and wouldn't show any short term directional indications? Also, do the futures have any lead on these type of moves?

Thanks for your help,
    samtrader

2. arky

arky

The Nasdaq futures lead the way.

I started Nasdaq scalping about three months ago. I am a newbie, and I am flat after commissions. I have been watching a few of these stocks all day, every day, and it still scares the hell out of me. The futures turn on a dime and you better be able to get out fast, so make sure you have the right tools and since you are asking this question, I suggest you find some sort of support and training before you go "big game hunting." I am using a chatroom as a training and support mechanism. It is keeping me from getting creamed, because the futures are not real easy to read and gauge, but it can be done. This method is extremely difficult to learn and implement. I have already studied these methods for 14 mos, simulator traded for two mos, and am now live with Realtick. I am making progress, but there is indeed a nasty learning curve. I do believe the rewards are sufficient to justify the process, but it is definitely more difficult than I ever imagined. So now you have the answer, but you need to find a way to incorporate it as part of an overall plan, that is the hard part. Good luck and do be careful, this market has been treacherous lately! Today for example, I just watched in awe as these damn stocks are driven up and immediately sold off just as s