Nasdaq e-mini data

Discussion in 'Data Sets and Feeds' started by akurov, Jan 23, 2002.

1. akurov

akurov

I am a student looking at audit trail data for Nasdaq-100 full-size and e-mini contacts. The data (obtained from the CFTC) show trader type IDs for both sides of each trade.

In the big contract the volume is dominated by locals trading with outside customers, which is normal for futures markets. But for the e-mini more than 30% of trades are trades of LOCALS WITH LOCALS. In those trades for every local who wins there is a local who loses. Sure, in GLOBEX you don't know who you are trading with. But the locals see the same action on the floor, they have similar information. I thought they would want to be on the SAME SIDE rather than on opposite sides of the trade. Or perhaps some locals have better info than others. What do you think?:confused:

Alex

2. Used to trade on the CME and my friends still down there attribute high local-to-local trade activity to arbitrage between mini and pit traded SP futures. Five mini's = One pit traded and the exchange allows fungible offset. This could account for most of this activity.

Cheers,

3. akurov

akurov

Thanks for replying. I was also thinking about arbitrage. But the thing is, most of the e-mini trades between locals are for 1 contract.

4. Yes, indeed. But what most locals do is try to scalp a full size contract on the bid side and scale up a few offers in the mini's one at a time (and vice versa). Most of the volume in the mini appears to be one-lots, while the larger contracts have chunkier institutional flow. Many locals on the CME floor have e-mini terminals and try to arb the bigger flows as they hit the pit...

Cheers,

5. akurov

akurov

dvegadvol,