Name that Technical Indicator

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by earlybirdstango, Jun 18, 2006.

1. I'm sure you guys are all over this one, but TA is all foreign to me and I am hoping someone can point me in the right direction.

I am an intraday trader and recently I have been trading UNH everyday. As UNH was falling from grace I noticed a few things. Everytime the market ran, UNH woudn't respond to market rallys and would trade down, and when the market slammed it slammed HARDER.

More recently I have noticed as the market trades down UNH trades UP, and when the market slams he stays fairly put.

So there has been a fairly bullish retstraint on behalf of UNH to convert froma very bearish stock to a neautral stock, for now.

My question, Is there a technical indicator that measures the daily movement of a stock relative to the SnP?

My goal, as you may imagine, is to take a look at the stocks that dont go down when the market goes down, and has follow-thru when the market does run.

Thanks guys.

2. This may not help much, but if you use eSignal you can chart simple formulas by putting a space between operands and operators. UNH / $SPX typed into a summary window for instance, overlayed by $SPX, might be a simple solution.

3. dog, thats actually what gave me the idea that there must be a tech indicator :)

I trade with one chart on my screen with a universal SnP futures ontop of it. My main objective is that I have a TI screener, and Id like to find some decent setups with the TI i described.

4. Oh I understand what you mean now. Sorry for the digression. :)

5. tireg

tireg

My question, Is there a technical indicator that measures the daily movement of a stock relative to the SnP?

Are you referring to 'beta'?

Copy/paste from investopedia:
    A measure of the volatility, or systematic risk, of a security or a portfolio in comparison to the market as a whole.

Also known as "beta coefficient".