my story

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by mikeenday, May 22, 2011.

1. mikeenday

mikeenday Guest

I'm a typical trader taking a very slow path.
    I lost a little over 100K for the first 6 years. I was a software engineer, and got into trading due to ESPP and some company options.

I tried to learn everything , from fundamental analysis to technical charting. Traded almost all instruments, from stocks to futures, currencies. And my trading book collection is taking two bookshelves.

During this period, I sent my checks (probably over 15 pieces) and re-fill my IB accounts every 6 months. I was fully aware of my problem then, overtrading. And took extreme leverage with some currency trades. But I just couldn't stop it. like a bad addiction. I probably took well over 1500 trades per year during that period. Every year when I filed my 1040, I looked my schedule D, and speechless.

Then I stopped losing money and break even for about 2 years, and starting from 2009, I focused on stocks and options. Occasionally swing trade ZC/ZW/ZS/CL.

My persistence and never-give-up attitude turned my trading little by little. And since my job allows me to constantly monitor quotes , (with a tiny quote window open while I'm writing software codes. ) I can only see bid/ask prices without bar charts. I first felt very in-convenient, but later it turned out to be the best thing happen to my trading. I actually become very good at reading the price change. And get a very good sense of where the price will go.

The break through came when I decided only trade triangle breakup/breakdown. This significantly cut down my trading to about 10 trades per month.

end of 2009, I had a baby, and couldn't monitor my quotes all the time as before, this actually improved my trading. I basically setup the stoploss and forgot about the trades. Sometimes, I was pleasantly surprised when I checked the account when trading session ends.