my story

Discussion in 'Journals' started by traderkay, Jul 9, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hi guys (and girls:) here's my little story. i'm posting it mostly for my own benefit (the way tutor benefits from teaching) cause i wanted to put my experience together and kind of look at it from the outside. I started trading in 99 I think with little capital. It was the mania time - a POS firm announces a web site and its stock goes up 50x. im sure you all remember those times. well many of you would say it was a good time to start because you could buy anything and it would go up. well it wasn't for me because i was going short. i tried to look at the companies that were shooting up and it was mind boggling how such POS could go up in such an extreme fashion. So being kind of a contrarian by nature and reluctant to follow the crowd I shorted those stocks. You didn't even need to know fundamental analysis to see that the forecasts of bright future for a POS that just announced a web site or something like that were complete nonsense. Anyways, I shorted them as they were shooting up. Every one POS that I shorted went down but I had to wait months and months while the stock was doubling on me. By the time it came down I was so scared I covered at breakeven. So that's how I spent maybe 1/2 year. I thought that I was being rational, I was being "right", the crowd was idiotic for running these stocks up and I was doing the right, "prudent" thing. Sadly I couldn't be further from the truth. I always put on huge positions relative to my equity. So for months my equity was tied up in losing positions but thats just icing on the cake. After half a year, I took another big position, it went against me, I disregarded my stop, became an investor, the usual sad story. Also I let some personal factors interfere with my decision making. Also regarding stops, I didn't really think I needed them. I kind of expected to be right every time, I don't know how but