my lake

Discussion in 'Journals' started by jjftw, Jan 16, 2009.

1. jjftw

jjftw

Hi I've been trading for almost 10 years now, this has been my only source of income and I had done very well by my standards up until 2008. I finished last year with a small profit but I'm very disappointed with my performance which was hurt due to change of my trading style.

I'm going back to my original trading ways, scalping NYSE listed stocks, most trades will be done between 9.3-10.3 Almost never overnights.

In this journal you can follow me trade the way I would teach a close friend to trade if he was to start from 0.

I will start with 200 share positions for stocks over 20 dollars and 400 shares for stock under 20. After 3 consecutive up days I will increase my trading size and after 3 consecutive down days I will decrease it. The starting daily loss limit is 300 dollars, if I lose 10000 dollars overall I will stop trading for the year.

A bit later I will give some of my rules and criteria for trades, at the end of the trading day will post the p&l and trades for that day.

2. jjftw

jjftw

I will start here with trading NYSE listed stock with price over 5. Since my starting size is minimal there is no average daily volume limit on stocks to trade, if size gets bigger I will have to take volume into consideration.

Around 9.15 in the morning I will pick 2-4 stocks for trading that particular day, I will try to post the picks around 9.25 in this thread.

Here's the picture of my screen, so you know what I'm looking at during trading, markets are closed right now but you'll get the idea, I'll post another pic when markets are open.

[​IMG]

3. jjftw

jjftw

As you can see I have 2 active montages with time and sale, I keep 2 main stock candidates for trading on that particular day there. I will put 2-3 more stocks to keep an eye on that day in the quote monitor in the top middle. As you can see I also have quotes for about 50 stocks that I keep an eye on any given day.