My journey: Stocks to eminis, scalping to strategy

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by candletrader, Aug 22, 2005.

1. My Dearest of Brethren,

I was in conversation yesterday with an experienced futures trader who has a very different trading style to myself... the gentleman in question is a successful high frequency futures scalper... as some of you know, I made my living for many years in the equity markets (first as a fractional scalper prior to decimalization, then as an intraday swing trader), and have only relatively recently (relative to how long I have been trading, that is) found significant and consistent success trading the stock index futures -- after, I hasten to add, a somewhat prolonged drawdown...

These days, I am primarily a trader of the emini S&P, and I look to take as much as possible out of intraday moves. In my approach, for every 20 days of the month, I actually may place zero trades on around 10 days... and, yes, all trades are opened intraday and exited the same day... For example, in the last 20 trading days, I have only had 13 trades, of which 5 were winners, 5 were losers and 3 were scratches... it was a very pleasing last 20 days, in terms of net profits (moreover, the commissions to net profits ratio was virtually non-existent)...my current trading style is akin to being a glider who seeks the occasional thermal and then simply enjoys the ride...