My Investment Idea for 2002

Discussion in 'Trading' started by TonyOz, Dec 28, 2001.

1. TonyOz

TonyOz

I'm Suumitting this post again with a poll that will expire in ten days. Feel free to vote, and please tell us about your vote.

Here is the position I took for the next year. I don't mind sharing it with you, but keep in mind that this is an investment and not a trade.

I have been sitting in cash for a long while (since Sep 2000), and I have watched my returns diminish with every interest rate cut. But, I did not rush to buy bonds or lock my money in CDs, because I was waiting for a good opportunity.

I have entertained potential investment ideas for a while, and I finally decided to act on one of them.

The play is as so:

Buy: SEBL stock and sell SEBL Jan03 $30.00 calls for a net debit of $19.90. With the stock trading at 28.00, and the option at 8.10 by 8.40 it is very possible to get a fill. You might even be able to get it for 19.70. The lowest I have seen it was 19.40 (option bid 7.50 SEBL stock at 26.90 last week).

For the sake of simplicity, I will use 20.00 as an entry. This should include commissions etc.

If SEBL is at 30+ (40,50,80,180, it does not matter) you will get 30.00 a share in January 2003. Your cost is 20, so you made 50% in one year.

Your break even is 20.00, so SEBL can go down 8 points or close to 30% in one year and you will break even. Anything over 20.00 a share and you make money.

Now, SEBL trades at PE 54, so it could be overpriced. This is risky, but I think the reward is worth the risk.

I was comparing this trade with potentially doing the same on QQQ. Buy QQQ and sell QQQ Jan03 $40.00 calls, but the maximum returns are 19.7% VS 50% on SEBL and the Break Even only allows a 16.5% decline. Sure this is a more diversified position, but I like the rewards/risks associated with SEBL.

Yes, another way to play this is to simply sell the naked January03 $30.00 puts for $9.20, but the break even will be 20.80 in this case.