My first Journal

Discussion in 'Journals' started by Crewmen, Jun 4, 2007.

1. Crewmen

Crewmen

Hello folks, I’m a relativity new trader and would like to open a trading journal my goal is to take a conservative approach to the markets while limiting my risk. All trades will not exceed 1% of my capital (except gap downs). The only stock market book I’ve read was by Van Tharp “Trade Your Way to Financial Freedom”. I had to read it a few times because it was over my head..

I will use some of the methods I’ve read in Tharp’s book to apply in my methodology. Bet size will be based off volatility as well as stops. All stocks selected for trades will be based solely off charts. I don’t sit by my screen all day and so most decisions are based off closing price and my departure from a stock comes from my stops. Hard stops are placed in once position is taken. Stops only get adjusted when the position moves in my favor.

Having done my research tonight tomorrow I will more likely then not just stand-by as I’m not finding opportunities at this time. I have learned to stay away from things when I got to kick over rocks to find set-ups. Currently I only trade equities both long and short. My time frame for any trade is as long as I can hang on with out getting stopped out.

This won’t be an exciting journal and in fact you will find it very boring, but I’m looking forward to hearing from some of you who have been doing this for a good while and look forward to constructive criticism and or teaching points. I would however ask if you come to rain on my parade to please not reply to this journal..

CM

2. Crewmen

Crewmen

Here are a few opportunities I’m looking at for possible long candidates.

FCX
    VMI
    GRMN
    SYX

3. Crewmen

Crewmen

Well, now that the S&P has moved back into it's range I'll standby and see what develops here. Is this just a little pullback? Well I don't know as I'm not that smart to predict where we go from here.