My first day live

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by Drew07, Oct 31, 2007.

1. Drew07

Drew07

Hey guys,
    Tomorrow (11/1/07) will be my first day going live trading futures (YM). I've been studying the markets for a couple of years now and decided about a year ago that I want to make a living by trading. I've spent months preparing by paper trading, reading ET posts, reading books and just overall being obsessed with learning the markets. I won't be trading full-time due to college classes and a job but I'm confident I'll have enough access in order to give myself some kind of a chance at being profitable. I'm basically starting this thread to ask for any advice you might have for me...other than have realistic expectations because I've already accepted the fact that theres a good chance I might lose my initial deposit. Thanks!

2. Nothing like a trial by fire to see what you're really made of. Welcome to the big leagues kid!

My advice, don't ever trade more then one contract until you've proven, as indicated by your daily P&L, that you can make money!

3. Drew07

Drew07

Thanks mschey. One of my goals is to keep it simple and safe by trading 1 contract at a time. I'm more concerned with trying to stay on the right side of trades while dealing with the emotions of having real money at risk rather than trying to quickly make money. I think I have all of the popular newbie mistakes to avoid drilled into my head by now. Do you guys find that it's distracting to think about trading in a monetary sense? Is it better to think of ticks as just ticks rather than as cash?